Reviews

      Great food with a nice ambiance. Our short ribs were delicious and tender. Loved the fried chicken and mac & cheese but the yams were not to our liking. They looked better than they taste. Not a place you would want to bring small children. Overall the food and service here was outstanding. Great place for a nice night out.

    thumb David W.
    7/11/2019

      This place was outstanding!  I made a reservation for 8 of us as a business dinner.  I only based this on the reviews from previous diners and the lack of many choices in Hayward.  When we arrived we were a bit concerned, as from the outside the place is not that appealing. Once we walked in we had a different impression.  Very nice inside. A little cozy, a little classy and very comfortable.

    We were seated immediately and started off with appetizers.  We had the pork belly meatballs and fried dill pickles.  Both were really good, though the meatballs were a little dry.  For my entree I had the short ribs.  So good.. very tender, flavorful and the grits were so smooth and delicious.  Others at the table had the salmon (all were very pleased) and the catfish (which was said to be FANTASTIC by the person that ordered it).

    Unfortunately we didn't have dessert, as everyone was full.  The portions are good size; not extremely large and plenty to fill you up.

    At the end of our meal the owner, Michael, came to our table to ask how our meal was.  I am one that's always honest and told him that everything was very good.. the food and service were all great.  The other diners expressed the same in their review of their meals.  I'll definitely be back to Playt when in the area.

    thumb Michael S.
    7/10/2019

      Service was good, food was messy and was service was below average.

    I ordered the BBQ friend chicken sandwich. The sandwich was prepared with so much BBQ sauce that it was a hot mess. I explained to server and she looked at me like I'm crazy with my hands soaked in BBQ sauce.

    The remade the sandwich and put the sauce of the side which made the sandwich easier to eat but was not anything worth recommending.

    My girlfriend ordered a breakfast plate and she got scrambled eggs when she asked for over easy...

    thumb Alan H.
    7/05/2019

      Hayward finally has a great restaurant downtown!   Check  this place out.  The service was exceptional, prices reasonable,  and the food was top notch.  The catfish was melt in your mouth good with a delicious spiced cornmeal crunch.   Gumbo is chalked full of seafood with a nice bijou kick!  We will be back.

    thumb Cray M.
    7/05/2019

      Dined on a Monday evening, not packed at all but had reservations for 5pm to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. Our server was attentive & friendly. We had the fried chicken, shrimp& grits, crab ravioli, catfish, and appetizers between the 4 of us. The food was ok, not great. The fried chicken was very salty. The shrimp & grits flavor was plain. The catfish was the best dish. The drinks were better than the food. Looked like most people are there for Happy Hour. They did not do anything for my daughter's birthday even though I mentioned it 3 times...disappointing! I was ok with the prices, but Probably will not go back

    thumb Adella J.
    7/03/2019

      I came here with a few girlfriends.  I only found the food to be average, but drinks were great!  I'm from the south so I get very picky when it comes to southern food. I found the food to be salty and a bit too much for my likings.

    thumb Thuy V.
    6/30/2019

      So happy they came to Hayward. Everyone I take there loves it. Great place for date night but ok for families as well.

    thumb Angie A.
    6/25/2019

      My husband and I came here shortly after it opened, and the food was really good, if a bit expensive to eat often. The owner was there and personally described the dishes to us and recommended his favorites, and we really felt welcomed. We recently came back for a nice dinner on our anniversary, however, and we're not planning to come back again.

    The food is still pretty good, and is plated beautifully, but unfortunately the place is really loud. So loud we couldn't hear each other over the table, so we ended up just poking at our phones rather than having to ask the other person to repeat themselves constantly. The servers were really short with us, with the woman who took our order just walking away after my husband's drink order without even asking if I wanted a drink too.

    Honestly I think I'm done with fancier restaurants in general because the higher-end ambiance isn't worth the loudness, let alone the higher price tag. I'd rather go to a smaller, more casual restaurant where the food tastes just as good, like Southern Comfort up in Castro Valley.

    thumb Erika D.
    6/23/2019

      Service was a bit slow but the staff was very kind. I'd still give this place 5 stars. The food and beverages are absolutely amazing! Southern food done right! Will definitely be back!

    thumb Michelle C.
    6/23/2019

      My lady ordered the chicken pot pie and the mac and cheese. I ordered the shrimp and grits. The food was fantastic! I'd go back on the food alone, however the pricing is expensive for a "go to" place of mines and the service was fair to okay.

    thumb Christian A.
    6/20/2019

      Old bijou restaurant turned into an upscale soul food restaurant in downtown Hayward. I only say upscale because tee shirt and leggings just didn't fit right in the ambiance. I ordered the fried chicken with an extra breast piece. Chicken was moist, collard greens was good but mac & cheese was ok, wasn't anything special about it. My husband's ribeye was burnt and had way too much going on top of it. I wouldn't have eaten it but he was starving and finished it. Service seemed short and just took awhile to get the food and check at the end of the night. It was different, wouldn't go back but it's a good change in downtown Hayward.

    thumb Jennifer S.
    6/19/2019

      The first thing we fell for was the people - especially the owner! He made our three boys feel so welcome. What an exceptional person with a heart of welcome and a face full of smiles!
    We also we fell for the food! We celebrated our son's graduation dinner here and it was phenomenal! More people need to discover the charm and exquisite flavor of Playt!

    thumb Shannon P.
    6/19/2019

      Really good food and nice people.  The manager is a great guy.  Good location on B St. and the best southern food around.

    thumb Terry P.
    6/16/2019

      The buttermilk fried chicken is delicious but everything here is overpriced for the portion size that's given. The yams were bland and needed more to sweeten it up and please don't believe the hype about the mac n cheese I seen kraft that looked and tasted better. It's definitely not baked mac n cheese and the cheese sauce is super watery

    thumb S M.
    6/12/2019

      We went here for a birthday dinner and had about 16 people in our party.  I can honestly say that EVERYONE in our party thoroughly enjoyed every dish that was ordered.  Some even ordered multiple dishes.

    I personally had the catfish dinner with grits and it was amazing.  Fish was perfectly seasoned, light and breading flakey.

    All in all, if you're looking for good soul food, GO HERE!

    thumb Bran S.
    6/11/2019

      Came in on a Sunday night before closing and it was fairly busy, but not overly noisy. I would consider myself a lover of food, so I OF COURSE had to check out the menu before we came in to be sure it would be a place I could eat at. The evening did NOT disappoint! We ordered the blue crab and shrimp ravioli, the braised beef short ribs and the pozole gumbo. Everything was so rich in flavor! Be sure to ask for recommendations on how to pair your dishes if you're ordering more than one item. Everything was so amazing, but my hands-down favorite was the crab and shrimp ravioli. (Tip: order an appetizer or a side dish with this menu item.) The mixture of crab/shrimp was not mushy and the flavor seemed to stand out from the sauce it was cooked in, although together it was *muah*.

    We ordered a sangria, too, but this does sell out, so hopefully you don't miss it! The hint of ginger really makes the drink! I am really picky about my water, and the water served was perfect!

    I know most reviews don't mention the silverware, but I have to point out that the spoons were spotlessly clean. This made me feel comfortable and made my heart smile knowing that the owner took great pride in the details of the dining experience. When you go in for a meal, ask for him by name - Michael. He's very much involved and you will find him helping out his employees while striking up a conversation with the regular and new customers alike.

    WAIT! I almost forgot! How could I...? The dessert! We ordered the beignets, and they were the best beignets I have ever had - and I've been to Cafe du Monde in New Orleans! Michael attributes it to the light flakiness of the puff pastry which, he notes, he does not let out of the kitchen without checking and approving before sending it to your table. They have a light drizzle of caramel over them, so if you don't like caramel...who doesn't like caramel?!

    I still have more menu items to try, but I will most certainly be back!

    thumb Shoshana E.
    6/10/2019

      Went here on a date night and from our first bite we were hooked! Everything was delicious, tender and fresh. The drinks were perfect, so perfect we had 2 rounds of the same cocktail. The peach cobbler was yummy and we will definitely be back. Services was also very fast. We went on a Saturday night. Good to have this gem in Hayward!

    thumb Giovanna P.
    6/09/2019

      This is my favorite brunch spot. The menu is limited but the flavor consistent. The staff and owner are very friendly. I highly recommend

    thumb Wayne M.
    6/07/2019