Reviews

      I have had practically everything on the menu.  The only concern that I  have is that the shrimp and the catfish is way to salty.  They need to cut down on the seasoning. Also, i miss the wings.

    thumb P D.
    3/20/2019

      Catfish was good. Greens were mediocre. Drink wasn't bad. This place is overpriced therefore wouldn't come back.

    thumb Parin P.
    3/19/2019

      My family and I used to frequent the previous restaurant here and were sad to see it go, and with this menu being so different, we hadn't yet tried it until yesterday.  They were still serving Sunday brunch and the menu looked good.  They were really slammed though, and the only seating was in the lounge area, which was fine for my husband and I.  We had eaten once at Pecan and were expecting it to be good.  And it was.  But let me get back to why only three stars.

    The service, while friendly, was very slow.  It was obvious that they were short-staffed.  The bartender was left to service the lounge and while she did her best, it wasn't enough.  We waited a long time to place our orders and get our drinks. When I asked what the fruit was in the Seasonal Fruit Cornbread, she said it was blueberry, which sounded awesome to me, so I ordered it.  My husband ordered the Southern Breakfast with bacon.  What I got was plain cornbread.  The portion size was very good and it was delicious, but I was looking forward to those blueberries!  My husband got perfectly poached eggs and a buttered and griddled English muffin (delicious!) and super yummy grits.  But instead of bacon, he got sausage.  Nobody ever came to check on us, so we couldn't ask for the correct item.  He just ate it.

    The other thing is that the entire place seemed pretty dirty.  The floors looked unswept, the bathroom was dirty with sticky floors (eeeww).

    I'll give it another chance because the food was good, but the price you pay for going out (and this was a bit pricey) should include an all-around good experience - especially good service.

    thumb Diane M.
    3/18/2019

      This place exceeded my expectations great food and amazing service all worth the price

    thumb Shawntell G.
    3/18/2019

      If people didn't know Playt in Hayward was originally Pecan's in Oakland. I liked Pecans, I thought they were good, unfortunately I feel like Playt isn't as good. The food was good, I had the catfish and grits, also the banana French toast cause I'm a player!!!!!
    But the they were short handed, backed up and seemed a little overwhelmed. Also the front of the restaurant was dirty and not swept. For the most part I liked it. They just need to step it up a little like Pecans was.

    thumb Brotha S.
    3/17/2019

      The food and ambiance is wonderful.  I ate the Salmon (well) it was just the way I wanted.  My return will be soon.

    thumb Debbie M.
    3/14/2019

      Randomly stopped by here for date night with my husband. We were greeted by the owner who was extremely nice. He made us feel like we had walked into his home. The food was delicious. We will definitely go back. We definitely appreciated the kind owner.

    thumb Amanda J.
    3/13/2019

      For a Monday night, this place was poppin. Bringing New Orleans to the Hayward. Food was delicious, I ordered the Shrimp n Grits- so buttery and flavorful as entree. The fried green tomatoes had a little spice to them, but great crisp to it. The Peach Sidecar was amazing! I love sidecars, but not everyone knows how to make them. Definitely a family joint; the owner is very friendly and will make conversation with you.

    thumb Byrrnye W.
    3/12/2019

      Authentic Southern cooking.  Great menu choices.  Plentiful portions.  Attentive service.  Loved the Shrimp and Grits.  We've been back many times with friends.  Our new "go to" place.

    thumb Sherry Y.
    3/11/2019

      I've been meaning to check out Playt ever since Pican closed but it took me quite a while. Why? DK. The menu is even better. Friends gave very high marks to the shrimp fried in planko appetizer, cornbread was great, yay for the short ribs, but the shrimp and crab ravioli w/ lobster sauce? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Best. Entree. Ever. Since we left, I've been spending most of my time thinking how I can get others to go w/ me - someone's birthday? why don't we see each other more often? isn't it a holiday? - because I need to eat this again.
    OK. Peach something or other dessert was only OK. I don't care. Shrimp and crab ravioli is a life changer. Go to Playt.

    thumb Jane A.
    3/10/2019

      Our experience here was amazing! Our waiter, Sebastian was so attentive and informative. He knew the wine list and recommended some great drinks. We loved the appetizers and the dinner. The dessert was delicious! We had the bread pudding and the peach cobbler. They were both sooo good! Loved our service and our overall experience here. Would definitely come back. Thanks, Sebastian!

    thumb Gina P.
    3/09/2019

      Playt has great food, some signature drinks..try the Black Hand. This is our second time going and we really enjoyed ourselves.
    Service was great...when you come ask for Will-he's a great busier but will help with anything you need!!!
    Can't wait to come back!!!!!

    thumb R J.
    3/09/2019

      Great place.  I have a lot of memories from the previous restaurant "Bijou's", but Playt has become a neighborhood favorite.  The dishes and beverages are very good, atmosphere is great.

    thumb Marcus S.
    3/09/2019

      Playt deserves 3 1/2 stars.... Gumbo was very very good, meatballs were tasty, chicken was moist but flavorless, mac n cheese was good but not great. The service was pretty slow and not too attentive on a relatively slow night. Not sure if I will be back, I really wanted to like this place as Downtown Hayward tries to establish itself.

    thumb Mike C.
    3/05/2019

      This restaurant is a solid 4-Star. If I'm looking for some good ol' yummy comfort food and I don't want to drive to SF, this will totally hit the spot for me. I particularly love coming here with a group of people and enjoying the awesome vibes in here.

    LIKES:
    - Like I said, the food is YUM! Their fried chicken is juicy in the inside and the fried batter is tasty. I've ordered the fried catfish twice and both times - DELISH! Their bread pudding is perfectly crispy on the outside but moist and warm in the inside.
    - Service is great.
    - Cool decor inside.
    - Lively ambiance.
    - Happy Hour is 4 to 6pm M-Fri.
    - Parking is easy to find.
    - The wait time is not long.

    Downside:
    - The prices are a little steep.

    Overall, this place is great and I'd totally recommend them to my fellow Yelpers, friends, and family! Much love to y'all PLAYT!

    thumb Loreto D.
    3/02/2019

      Great Food and Great Customer Service. I've been here 4 times and I'm never disappointed. The Bartender Nicole and The Busboy named  Will was Really nice and did a Great job helping my Girls and I. We will be back!!

    thumb Earnestine C.
    3/02/2019

      So, I had been hearing good things about Playt for months now. I finally decided to give it a try. When I walked through the door I was greeted with a warm welcome by Nicole. The restuarant was clean and had a nice atmosphere.

    Nicole recommended the peach side car and later recommended the shrimp and grits. Both were very tasty. The person I was with hadnt eaten all day and decided to ordered two plates catfish and fried chicken. I sampled both which were also well seasoned and had the proper textures.

    For dessert we shared a chocolate lava cake. The cake was also good.

    Upon my departure I was acknowledged by staff and thanked for coming.

    Due to the excellent customer service I received and the food, I will definitely return to try more items listed on the menu.

    thumb Paula M.
    3/02/2019

      Food was bomb! Drinks were strong! Customer service on point! thanks Playt staff ... special shout out to Will & Nicole!

    thumb Steph N.
    3/01/2019