Reviews

      I went to Playt because the same owner did a great job at Pecans. If only he could duplicate what he did there. The service, if you want to cal it that is beyond TERRIBLE. We were seated quickly because I made a reservation through OpenTable. Once seated, we waited 15 minutes for someone to take our order. No one did so we left. NEVER got a chance to taste the food and I never will. I will NEVER go back. One of the easiest things for a restaurant to do, is to take your order. Sad commentary.

    thumb Mark J.
    8/18/2019

      I have been here twice. Once for happy hour with our work crew and another time shortly after with my fiancé and son.  Happy Hour was good. Service was lacking but kitchen was on it. Very good food. Dinner. Was much more crowded and well staffed. Service and food was excellent! We will be back. Bathrooms need improvement but the experience of the over all dining and quality of food and ambiance was terrific. The owner was present both times.  Very impressed with him and this restaurant. I highly recommend.

    thumb Shellie T.
    8/06/2019

      I passed by this restaurant almost everyday without ever eating here until today.

    Playt is a southern food restaurant. They offer seafood dishes, meat dishes, veggies and appetizers. Lots of alcohol beverages like beers, wine and mixed cocktail drinks.

    The wait: my partner and I waited around 5 mins before the bartender greeted us and sat us at a table. They were busy and looked like they may have been short-staffed. When we got seated, water and the menus we brought to us. So many good menu items on there that had us switching back and forth on our final decision. To be waited on, again it was a little longer and I think it was because they may have been short-staffed.

    Our orders: I decided to have the shrimp and grits. My partner ordered the Cajun Salmon dish. We ordered corn bread and fried green tomatoes. My partner also ordered their smoked Gouda Mac and cheese. Water to drink.

    The food: Fried green tomatoes were so good with the cornmeal crust and tasty Cajun dressing. I finished the tomatoes and couldn't stop eating just the dressing off my fingers. The corn bread came  with butter that melted when rubbed on them were amazing. The corn bread was so moist and sweet. I felt so good eating it. Shrimp and grits were so flavorful and so warm. The grits were buttery and melted on my tongue. I could not stop making "mmm" noises when I was eating it. The Cajun salmon, my partner enjoyed but said he liked my dish a tad bit better. Our table conversation mainly was about how good everything was and how much we want to bring family over here to eat it too. I tried the Mac and cheese, very cheesy and not greasy or heavy like you would think it would be. Just the right amount of cheese in it. Light and satisfying. Not going to lie, the portions were smaller but we had appetizers and everything on the table we were sharing with each other had filled us up.

    The staff: Aside from being busy at the bar, the bartender was consistent in checking in with us and making sure we had everything we needed. True southern hospitality was what we got.

    Our tab: For those dishes, and just water to drink it all came out to $71. Okay, it's a little up there but this is food you want to eat every once in a while to treat yourself to something good. Unless you can afford it everyday, this food is special and not your average restaurant.

    Will we be back? Hell yeah. I still want to try their chicken pot pie, or lobster ravioli, or fried catfish.

    thumb Elizabeth A.
    8/05/2019

      This time we had the chicken again, because OF COURSE we're gonna have the chicken.  It's really fantastic fried chicken.  To be clear, I never eat mac and cheese.  I find it an abomination.  Not Playt's though.  I gouda eat my mac n cheese there.  The only complaint is that the greens are a bit salty, but they're pork-flavored greens.  I think that's just what they're meant to be.

    The cornbread?  The bad news was it was supposed to have blueberries but they were all crammed in the corner of one piece.  The good news is that the cornbread is fantastic.  Like the best cornbread I've had in my life.  So moist. So sweet.  It was fantastic.

    The catfish fingers?  Lightly battered.  Crispy on the outside.  Nicely cooked on the inside.  Tasty sauce.  Tasty slaw with it.  Good stuff.

    The portabello mushroom entree made me think, "Ah, I guess I could be a vegetarian."  I still had chicken, but the mushroom was delicious.  The presentation had a patter of several different ingredients across the plate. Olive oil, vinegar, something green, and maybe another thing or two.  Not sure. Gorgeous for sure.  I wanted bread so I could sop up every last drop.  There was no suffering eating the succotash, either.

    The Cajun fries were the low point of the meal.  The fries were not bad.  In fact, they were great for fries.  Crispy.  Salty.  Spiced.  At a regular meal, they'd be a high point.  It's just that all the rest of the food was so much more flavorful.  When the unfried food is so good that good french fries are bland, you got DAMNED GOOD FOOD.  I did end up dipping the fries in the oil/vinegar mix of my mushroom entree.

    Finally we had the apple cobbler with vanilla ice cream for dessert.  The ice cream scoop was big, but the cobbler was huge.  There was so much sweet, rich, tasty cobbler that I wanted more ice cream to mix with it.  How often do you have a dessert and think, "Wow!  There's still more?"  Yeah, we thought that.

    Yeah, we overate.

    thumb J S.
    8/05/2019

      Maybe our mistake was coming here on a Friday night because the the place was packed and service was VERY mixed. As new as this restaurant is, we were not prepared to be ignored for a total of 10-15 minutes at the host stand, trying and failing to make eye contact with any server that would walk right past us.

    Finally, a female server with curly hair approached us and asked us if we had a reservation. We did not. She then proceeded to tell us that the only availability was at the lower lounge table, next to the bar, but took off before we could even tell her that we wanted to sit there. Again, we were just left stranded at the host stand, unsure if we should wait to be seated or just go sit there ourselves, as the table had not yet been cleaned.

    After waiting another 5 minutes and trying to tell other servers our situation and having them telling us "someone will be right with you," we took it upon ourselves to bring menus and seat ourselves. We had to ask a busser to clean the table for us, as no server seemed to notice we were there.

    After another 10 minutes, it was the bartender that found us and asked to take our orders. He was very friendly and helpful, as was the busser who ended up bringing all of our food to us. The only time we ever even saw a server was when we had to flag one down for our check.

    She had orange flat-ironed hair and was definitely not happy to "serve" us. Considering the only time she even helped us was to clarify a side order and bring us our check, I am not sure what she could be upset with us about.

    I really hope it was not an issue of discrimination. She was very friendly, making small talk with the African American party next to us, but literally would not even look me in the eye. And even though I was the one who flagged her down from the bar, she approached their table first and attended to their needs and made drinks for other tables before she brought us our check.

    When she did bring us the check, she did not say anything, did not even look at us, just dropped it on the table and left. Same as when she picked up our check, after we had put our card in it, and when she dropped the receipt for us to sign.

    It's really too bad. The ambiance is nice. Perfect for a fun night out or to celebrate a birthday. It is quite loud in there, though, so don't expect to have private conversations. The food is actually really good and the Mac n' cheese is probably the best I'd ever had at a restaurant. However, the prices are way too high at this restaurant for this low level of service.

    I hope they are able to work out their service kinks soon, as I noticed multiple parties at the door looking just as exasperated as us to not be noticed, let alone greeted.

    Note to the owner: Bring on more personable servers. Maybe some people who can put aside their own biases or frustrations and can perform their jobs like a professional.

    thumb Diana T.
    8/03/2019

      Not my favorite.   The food reminded me of southern cuisine but was just not the same as good hometown cooking in the region I'm from.  I felt like the food was not genuine in the style they're trying to represent.  The only part of the meal that my friend and I truly liked was the cornbread; the rest was overly presented and underwhelming in content (it was just not that good.).  I'm disappointed because the flavor was even lacking.  I've been wanting to try this place for awhile.  Will not be returning, theres better cuisine (and much better "southern style") cuisine around.

    thumb Stacey S.
    8/03/2019

      I loved my catfish meal with the broccolini & yams! Catfish was cooked to taste & not salty

    What stole the show was that bread pudding, I was looking for somebody to slap it was good!

    Word to the wise, please make sure your cornbread is hot so that butter can melt!

    thumb Latisha M.
    7/31/2019

      I love this place. The only reason I give it a 4 out of 5 star review is because of the wait for drinks seems to be a reoccurring theme when I visit. Other than that, the food is great!

    thumb Lauren S.
    7/30/2019

      This review is for service, we didn't even get to try the food because the service was so slow. My bf and I were excited to try their brunch menu. We came in this morning. Waited a bit to be acknowledged that we were there and then eventually were seated. We waited about 15 min and no one even came over to ask us for drinks or even tell us we would be waited on soon. Other people walked in got seated and got waited on immediately. Idk why they didn't want to wait on us, but I won't be going back, hope your service gets better.

    thumb Victoria D.
    7/28/2019

      Food came out fresh ! The environment of the restaurant is very dope with a modern touch.

    thumb Diante P.
    7/26/2019

      Great catfish and grits ate all my food go from there nice atmosphere clean comfortable

    thumb Todd H.
    7/20/2019

      Just had the best fried green tomatoes, catfish and grits in a very lonnng time.  Remind me of my childhood eating seafood in Mayoort, Florida.

    thumb Lucious G.
    7/20/2019

      Magnificent! Not only was the food delicious, the owner was so charming! He interacted with our table regularly and was the perfect host. It felt like you were having dinner at a friends house.

    We ordered a lot of food but my favorites are the ravioli and mac & cheese. Raviolis are stuffed with shrimps, blue crabs and nothing else. So good! The mac and cheese, I mean you can't even go wrong here but this version was arrived at a our table sizzling with all types of cheese on top.

    The ambience, the host, the wait staff, the food...all 5 stars! Highly recommend

    thumb Lisa L.
    7/19/2019

      Great food with a nice ambiance. Our short ribs were delicious and tender. Loved the fried chicken and mac & cheese but the yams were not to our liking. They looked better than they taste. Not a place you would want to bring small children. Overall the food and service here was outstanding. Great place for a nice night out.

    thumb David W.
    7/11/2019

      This place was outstanding!  I made a reservation for 8 of us as a business dinner.  I only based this on the reviews from previous diners and the lack of many choices in Hayward.  When we arrived we were a bit concerned, as from the outside the place is not that appealing. Once we walked in we had a different impression.  Very nice inside. A little cozy, a little classy and very comfortable.

    We were seated immediately and started off with appetizers.  We had the pork belly meatballs and fried dill pickles.  Both were really good, though the meatballs were a little dry.  For my entree I had the short ribs.  So good.. very tender, flavorful and the grits were so smooth and delicious.  Others at the table had the salmon (all were very pleased) and the catfish (which was said to be FANTASTIC by the person that ordered it).

    Unfortunately we didn't have dessert, as everyone was full.  The portions are good size; not extremely large and plenty to fill you up.

    At the end of our meal the owner, Michael, came to our table to ask how our meal was.  I am one that's always honest and told him that everything was very good.. the food and service were all great.  The other diners expressed the same in their review of their meals.  I'll definitely be back to Playt when in the area.

    thumb Michael S.
    7/10/2019

      Food was messy and was service was below average.

    I ordered the BBQ friend chicken sandwich. The sandwich was prepared with so much BBQ sauce that it was a hot mess. I explained to server and she looked at me like I'm crazy with my hands soaked in BBQ sauce.

    The remade the sandwich and put the sauce of the side which made the sandwich easier to eat but was not anything worth recommending.

    My girlfriend ordered a breakfast plate and she got scrambled eggs when she asked for over easy...

    thumb Alan H.
    7/05/2019

      Hayward finally has a great restaurant downtown!   Check  this place out.  The service was exceptional, prices reasonable,  and the food was top notch.  The catfish was melt in your mouth good with a delicious spiced cornmeal crunch.   Gumbo is chalked full of seafood with a nice bijou kick!  We will be back.

    thumb Cray M.
    7/05/2019

      Dined on a Monday evening, not packed at all but had reservations for 5pm to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. Our server was attentive & friendly. We had the fried chicken, shrimp& grits, crab ravioli, catfish, and appetizers between the 4 of us. The food was ok, not great. The fried chicken was very salty. The shrimp & grits flavor was plain. The catfish was the best dish. The drinks were better than the food. Looked like most people are there for Happy Hour. They did not do anything for my daughter's birthday even though I mentioned it 3 times...disappointing! I was ok with the prices, but Probably will not go back

    thumb Adella J.
    7/03/2019